H-4 Diaries 101

So being on an H-4 visa has defined my life in numerous ways and I thought why not blog about it. I have found blogging to be therapeutic, maybe some kind of narrative therapy, so starting today (March 28, 2011) almost six-years, after I moved to the United States on an H-4 visa I have decided to start writing about it. Why now? Well, why not… It is never too late to begin right!

I have always been a late bloomer or tube light as we Bombaywallahs like to say. I never realized  how an alphabet and a number could change my life forever. So starting today I will be dedicating a portion of my blog to how I as an Indian woman living in the United States on an H-4  challenge and struggle with the complexities of being on H-4.

I will try to not write this from the perspective of a victim, because I believe we are all survivors and I have immense faith in the resilience of the human spirit. I hope my journey will give some hope to other H-4 visa holders.

 

Like a butterfly that flutters around  and waits to take flight I wait as well

2 thoughts on “H-4 Diaries 101

  1. Oh, you are on H4 too Arch. I’d love to read about your H4 experience.

    I have been here for just 15 months on H4 now, earliest days went in relishing US, then I slowly started getting bored, but like you I also think we are not victims, there are still many stuff we can do and learn here. Ok, I haven’t followed them but I don’t crib now too. I discovered stuff which I enjoyed and learnt to spend my time well. 🙂

  2. I would love to hear of your experience. I took a course in Women and Policy and I realized how the H-4 can be detrimental to a lot of women, but surely if you have the right support systems in place you can make the best use of it 🙂 I guess it depends on what you want in life!

Leave a Reply

